Dallas Cowboys Americas Team Is Back

Price: $13.50
Product prices and availability are accurate as of 2017-10-19 16:13:57 CDT and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on http://www.amazon.com/ at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
Availability: In Stock
Usually ships in 24 hours

Manufacturer Description

This is a must read for Cowboy fans, and a great gift for Cowboy memorabilia collectors! This is the story of the roller coaster ride with Jerry and the Cowboys from 1989 through 2014, and a look back at the glory years of the Tex Schramm and Tom Landry regime of the 70s. ** The Dallas Cowboys. Americas Team. The Cowboys are the original Americas Team. They were given this iconic name in 1978 by NFL Films, because everywhere that the Dallas Cowboys played they would have a significant following in the stands. The Cowboys have won five Super Bowl championships in their illustrious history (1971, 1977, 1992, 1993, 1995). ** The Dallas Cowboys were one of the great NFL franchises in the decade of the 70’s, when they won their first two Super Bowls with stars like Roger Staubach (hall of fame), Bob Lilly (hall of fame), Rayfield Wright (hall of fame), Tony Dorsett (hall of fame), Drew Pearson (3-time All-Pro), and Randy White (hall of fame). There were no Super Bowls in the decade of the 80’s. Then came Jerry Jones dramatic acquisition of the franchise in 1989, the controversial firing of coach Tom Landry (hall of fame) and the resignation soon thereafter of GM Tex Schramm (hall of fame). The 90’s saw the Cowboys get back to the top of the NFL, and win the Super Bowl in three out of four seasons from 1992 through 1995. ** After 1995 the franchise fell into a long period of mediocrity on the field. While Jerry Jones enjoyed unprecedented financial success as an NFL owner, Jerry struggled as the Cowboys General Manager. Year after year of draft busts, bad trades, unproductive free agent moves and poor salary cap management left Cowboy fans to wonder if The Cowboys would ever measure up to their great history. In the 18 years from 1996 through 2013 the Dallas Cowboys won only two playoff games. Their record was 8-8 or worse, in ten of those eighteen years. ** Then came the drafts of 2011 – 2014. Jerry’s draft selection behavior changed. He drafted an offensive lineman in the first round for the first time ever in 2011, and did so in three out of those four drafts. Jerry also stopped signing high priced free agents. He began to manage the Cowboys salary cap much more wisely. Cowboy fans watched the tremendous improvement on the field in 2014, as Dallas went 12-4, won their wildcard playoff game, and then lost a close game to a very good Green Bay Packers team on the road, in the divisional round. ** Jerry had another productive draft in 2015, and he signed an undrafted free agent offensive lineman considered to be a first round talent. The Cowboys are poised to be very good in 2015, and they appear to be ready to challenge as one of the NFC favorites for the Super Bowl.

Write a Review